Wright Eye Care Center

4185 Technology Forest Blvd Ste. 225
The Woodlands TX 77381

Office Hours: M-Th 8:30 to 5:30, Fri. 8:30 to 3:00
Closed for Lunch: M-Th 12:30 to 1:30


Our Doctors

Home Our Doctors

J. Britt Wright, OD

For over 27 years, Dr. Wright has been an integral part of The Woodlands and surrounding communities. He is certified in the treatment of ocular disease and is an Optometric Glaucoma Specialist. He has extensive experience with contact lens fitting, evaluating the focusing system and diagnostic examination of the health of the eye.

Maintaining good eye health is a major factor in Dr. Wright’s success with his patients. He believes primary eye care is important to the patient’s overall health. Dr. Wright is dedicated to managing many ocular disease entities including eye infections, glaucoma and macular degeneration for his patients. He also sees numerous patients that suffer from allergies affecting the eyes and dry eye syndrome.

Since 2016 through 2022, the community has shown their admiration and appreciation for Dr. Wright by voting him the Best Optometrist in The Woodlands area.

Dr. Wright has also been active in the community over the years, coaching youth sports in The Woodlands in the South County Football League and Alodia Basketball. Being a former college basketball player, he continues to show his love of the sports through coaching youth. He can often been seen around the area attending many of the local high schools’ sporting activities. When he isn’t working or helping in the community, he is an avid golfer. He most enjoys spending time with his wife Kristina and their two sons, Brendan and Conner.

Dr. Wright received his Doctor of Optometry degree from the University of Houston College of Optometry and his undergraduate degree in biology from West Texas A&M University in Canyon, Texas. He completed internships at the Eyecare and Surgery Center in Dallas, Texas with emphasis on management of eye infection and disease, and at Turtle Creek Eye Associates in Dallas, emphasizing primary care and contact lens fitting and management. Dr. Wright received letters of excellence in all four specialty clinics while a student at the University of Houston College of Optometry.

Stephen G. Slade, MD

Stephen Slade, MD is a world renowned specialist in  LASIK , Presbyopia correction, cataract surgery , implantable contact lenses, and refractive surgery, serving patients in Houston, Texas. He attended Tulane University and the University of Texas Medical School with a final, elective year spent at Guy’s Hospital, London, graduating summa cum laude, with highest honors.

He completed a residency at the LSU Eye Center in New Orleans and fellowships in corneal surgery at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston and in New York, New York on Project ORBIS. Dr. Slade is a Fellow of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and the American College of Surgeons. He is an active teacher of surgical techniques and has taught, lectured to, and certified over 8,000 surgeons on LASIK and lamellar refractive surgery.

In 1991, along with Stephen Brint MD,  Dr. Stephen Slade performed the first LASIK in the United States. Later he performed the first Custom LASIK ablation based on topography in the United States. He has since done tens of thousands of cases.
Stephen Slade, M.D. has remained on the cutting edge, having the nation’s longest experience with laser cataract surgery, all-laser LASIK, accommodating IOLs (Crystalens), and the implantable contact lens (ICL). In fact, Dr. Slade was a lead investigator and presented the data to the FDA for panel approval for both the Crystalens and the implantable contact lens. Of unique note, Dr. Slade is considered a “surgeon’s surgeon”. Over 450 of his fellow eye surgeons have chosen him for their own eye surgery. He is an active researcher and the U.S. medical monitor for several new technologies including the Intralase laser for All-Laser LASIK, the implantable corneal contact lens, and the Wavelight laser. He has received numerous awards including 11 named lectures, Refractive Surgeon of the Year, two China Service Medals, the Summit Technologies Pioneer of Refractive Surgery Award, the Casebeer Award, and the Lans Lectureship.